Perpetually Blogging- joining the Daily Post experiment on WordPress

a beacon of inspiration

 

 

 

 

Since my latest book A Comment on the Verses of the Book of the Law has been published a great deal of my time has been taken up with publicizing it but now that the initial flurry of activity has passed I have found myself at a loose end with writing. Now, instead of long ‘to do’ lists of small but necessary details to be attended I have the leisure to contemplate “what next?” For the first time in months I am able to shift my focus from my past work to my future ambitions.

Of course I do have a number of projects that I am working on but these are revisions of finished works that I want to have published, and apart from a couple of blogs that I irregularly post on I seem not to writing very much that is new. http://ankhafnakhonsu.wordpress.com was conceived of as a vehicle to make my collection of esoteric essays available more widely and most of the posts are drawn from letters and diaries with only enough editing to make them readable on the web. http://chefologist.wordpress.com is an experiment that I started as a challenge to myself and as an outlet for my passion for food, to write short (250-350 words) posts on food, including a recipe and a picture. So far I have only been moderately successful.

Blogging has changed the way that I write, and the reasons that I write, and so my ambitions as a writer have altered also. I follow a lot of blogs, regularly comment on many of them, and I am constantly inspired by some. I find that I love the immediacy of blogging; push the publish button and your post is out there for the entire world to read and criticize. The direct feedback from readers comments has been a great tool in my development as a writer.

Recently I followed a week of postaday2011 on Life and Art at http://gilliansblog.wordpress.com/  , a fantastic website by artist Gillian Holding. She set herself the experiment of writing on the topic of the day from http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ for one week. Her posts were interesting accounts of her struggle to grapple with the surprise subject that revealed more about the writer than her subjects. This has inspired me to follow a similar path out of my own comfort zone.

In order to sensibly set these parameters I first needed to ascertain my objectives. I had to set my goals.

Regular blogging is the only way to raise your profile on the web and this was a large part of the inspiration to take part in the experiment. I am also keen to develop my writing, its style and my expression. A lot of what I have posted to date is very formal (and hopefully informative) but lacks a lot of my own personality and voice in its telling. My blog, so far, has been a bit limited in its range of topics and this experiment is a mandate to broaden out and to give my opinions on everything, opening up my work to an ever broadening audience- hopefully.

For my choice of topic I shall use http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ topic of the day as my default subject but, not wanting to restrict my opportunities to post some exciting idea I intend to draw my inspiration from every possible source. As to the format of what I write I shall allow my muse to inspire me, long or short, informative or cryptic, prose or poetry, whatever seems appropriate to a subject is what I will try to write.

So, having determined my personal objectives for this experiment all that remains is to make my obligation to the Daily Post:

I’ve decided I want to blog more. Rather than just thinking about doing it, I’m starting right now.  I will be posting on this blog once a day until the end of August.
I know it won’t be easy, but it might be fun, inspiring, awesome and wonderful. Therefore I’m promising to make use of The DailyPost, and the community of other bloggers with similiar goals, to help me along the way, including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.
If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments and likes, and good will along the way.
Signed,
D G Mattichak jr

About dgmattichakjr

D G Mattichak jr was born in 1963 in Syracuse New York and immigrated to Melbourne Australia with his family in 1972. He was educated in one of Melbourne’s exclusive private schools before studying art at Preston Technical College. D G Mattichak jr has been a student of the occult arts since the early 1980s and has become well known in Australian magickal circles and, in recent years, around the world due to a string of essays on a variety of occult subjects http://www.scribd.com/dmattichak/shelf . He discovered the “key to the order & value of the English alphabet” from Aleister Crowley’s Book of the Law in 1983 and has since used this English Qabalah to unlock the secrets of Thelemite magick. Success in these methods admitted him to the highest levels of attainment in various Hermetic disciplines and until recently he has been passing on his knowledge to private students, many of whom have gone on to become notable occultists in their own right. After almost three decades of study and development D G Mattichak jr has finally been able to distil his knowledge of magick and Thelema into a book- A Comment on the Verses of the Book of the Law, the first in a planned series of books on Hermeticism and Thelemite magick, revealing, for the first time in over a century, the secrets of magick that have been hidden in Crowley’s magnum opus, the Book of the Law. D G Mattichak jr currently lives in Melbourne Australia with his artist wife Michelle and their two cats. He has had a long career as an al a carte chef in Melbourne’s vibrant hospitality scene and now spends his time writing blogs on cooking, writing and, in the guise of Master Ankh af na Khonsu, about magick. He is also one of the founding members of the Mt Franklin Annual Pagan Gathering and regularly contributes to its official website http://mountfranklinannualpagangathering.blogspot.com/ as both an administrator and as an author. D G Mattichak jr’s first book Loot was released in 2009. His books are available through amazon.com at http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias=stripbooks&field-keywords=D G Mattichak&x=13&y=20 .
This entry was posted in authors, blogging, Comment on the Book of the Law, D G Mattichak jr, postaday 2011, Publishing, Thelema, writers, writing forum and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perpetually Blogging- joining the Daily Post experiment on WordPress

  1. Ed Hurst says:

    Sounds like an interesting challenge. I’ll be checking on your efforts daily.

Leave a Reply

