The Freelancer, Self Promotion and Perpetual Networking

My life has become an exercise in perpetual networking. As a lifetime networker this is not a new addition to my daily life but since I have taken the financially dubious decision to write full time it has become something of a priority as I network with the people that I write to, for and about. At the base of my overheated networking efforts is the ambition to promote myself and my work and so I have created an intricate network of contacts connecting me to people all over the world, in all walks of life simply on the basis of a shared interest in some obscure subject that I want to write about or that needs the services of a freelance writer to make it a less obscure subject. The internet, the greatest network ever conceived by the human mind, has been the most effective medium for all of this rampant networking with sites like Facebook and Linkedin, where I never imagined spending time in the past, now being my familiar stomping ground while I spend my idle hours musing over how to raise my EdgeRank rating to keep my status updates in the news feed for longer.
I love being asked to contribute to other author’s books in some way and was flattered that Maria Clay would ask me to write the back cover blurb for her book Conversations with a Scammer: My Secret Life Online just recently. She has produced a dynamic, cutting edge book on internet date site scammers and I had the challenge of getting her message into 200 words with a hook. I hoped that my efforts were sufficient but her reply that I had exceeded her expectations was a fillip for me and gave me even more motivation to get involved and network with all of the dynamic artists that I meet in cyberspace.This blog is a vital part of the networking strategy that I have evolved but due to the success of my networking efforts it has ironically suffered from a lack of my attention as I focus on the paying writing jobs and keep on delaying making a post here until I have the time to write something specifically for my blogging audience. Make the time! has become my motto as my ‘ToDo’ list continues to lengthen as the writing jobs come rolling in. The success of my efforts as a writer is also starting to create another group that I network with- the fans. While I have always hoped that there would be people out there that would read my writing, when I received my first fan letters (Facebook messages/e-mails/blog comments) proclaiming their enjoyment of this or that piece that I had written it gave me a renewed enthusiasm and reset the bar for my future work. It also created a whole new web in my network that has surprised me and led to working on interesting briefs like the author, Eric Coyote that wrote and asked me if I would review his latest book The Long Drunk.

 Of course there is still my own work to consider and while I continue to plug away at selling my books: Loot, A Comment on the Verses of the Book of the Law, Give Us this Day Our Daily Blog and my latest effort Master of the Crossroads (note the shameless plug for my entire back catalogue!) I have branched out into journalism and in last month’s Moot Magazine I managed to get not one, but two of my articles into the issue with requests from the editor for more. The first article, Spirituality: A New Religion for the New Age has been a great success and my background article on the Occupy movement, The 99% Occupy No Man’s Land was a bonus for me. In the next issue I hope to have at least one more article and, if Thoth, the god of writers, smiles on me perhaps I will have an e-book review column included regularly as well.

Freelancing has created some really interesting opportunities to write about things that I had never imagined venturing into like the e-book that I was contracted to write recently about Australia’s most wanted fugitive, Malcolm Naden, currently on the run from police in New South Wales for murder and who has evaded capture for six and a half years by living off the land in the Australian Wilderness. My first novel Loot was a crime fiction book and I have always been a fan of true crime books like Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood but had never imagined having the opportunity to be paid to write one in a similar vein.

While freelancing has provided many professional opportunities as my talent for writing internet copy has become known, it is through simple networking that has led to perhaps the most interesting developments and my network has become huge since joining forces with Lady Elizabeth Rose and her team who put on public celebrations of the Pagan Sabbats at CERES Environmental Park in Brunswick, one of Melbourne’s inner suburbs. Networking with this organic local Pagan community has even created opportunities to talk about my esoteric interests to these new readers that have become my fans while I have even been using my burgeoning networking skills to bring other people in my network together with my influence being the catalyst for new connections and friendships between people that share common interests and passions.

While all of this is very fertile ground for the writer it is also very time consuming and I find that I am spending as much time on promotional work and tendering for jobs as I do on writing which has led to this blog suffering from a sort of literary malnutrition. I do have a few of my usual kind of blog posts in the pipeline and intend in the coming weeks to write on topics that the followers of this blog (you know who you are) have come to expect from me. I just have to keep repeating my mantra- I Must Make the Time!

 

Cathedral Photo by Donovan Lord, Editor of Moot Magazine

About dgmattichakjr

D G Mattichak jr was born in 1963 in Syracuse New York and immigrated to Melbourne Australia with his family in 1972. He was educated in one of Melbourne’s exclusive private schools before studying art at Preston Technical College. D G Mattichak jr has been a student of the occult arts since the early 1980s and has become well known in Australian magickal circles and, in recent years, around the world due to a string of essays on a variety of occult subjects http://www.scribd.com/dmattichak/shelf . He discovered the “key to the order & value of the English alphabet” from Aleister Crowley’s Book of the Law in 1983 and has since used this English Qabalah to unlock the secrets of Thelemite magick. Success in these methods admitted him to the highest levels of attainment in various Hermetic disciplines and until recently he has been passing on his knowledge to private students, many of whom have gone on to become notable occultists in their own right. After almost three decades of study and development D G Mattichak jr has finally been able to distil his knowledge of magick and Thelema into a book- A Comment on the Verses of the Book of the Law, the first in a planned series of books on Hermeticism and Thelemite magick, revealing, for the first time in over a century, the secrets of magick that have been hidden in Crowley’s magnum opus, the Book of the Law. D G Mattichak jr currently lives in Melbourne Australia with his artist wife Michelle and their two cats. He has had a long career as an al a carte chef in Melbourne’s vibrant hospitality scene and now spends his time writing blogs on cooking, writing and, in the guise of Master Ankh af na Khonsu, about magick. He is also one of the founding members of the Mt Franklin Annual Pagan Gathering and regularly contributes to its official website http://mountfranklinannualpagangathering.blogspot.com/ as both an administrator and as an author. D G Mattichak jr’s first book Loot was released in 2009. His books are available through amazon.com at http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias=stripbooks&field-keywords=D G Mattichak&x=13&y=20 .
This entry was posted in authors, blogging, Books, crime fiction, D G Mattichak jr, Freelance Writing, Loot, magazines, Master of the Crossroads, Publishing, spirituality, writers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Freelancer, Self Promotion and Perpetual Networking

  1. A really good site for freelance writers is http://www.elance.com. I just joined it and it’s really quite versatile, catering to various writing styles, needs and interests. Good luck with your endeavours!

  2. GavinPaul 'Fox' Marriner says:

    Yep, I’m seemingly perpetually in the same boat as well. While I am in the slightly less precarious position of trying to publicise my writing while being a little more financially stable, with my psychology undergraduate degree chugging along in the background and student loans keeping me going, I’m also constantly stressing over new and innovative ways to get my blogspace, and my writing, noticed before I graduate in a couple of years time. Plus there’s also the desire that comes with writing on subjects that you love, the constant pushing to share your viewpoint with as many people as possible, that can easily lead to spending more time networking than actually writing, something I am trying to avoid. But hey, great article, got me thinking… 😀

    • My networking experience extends back through my past and was one of my key work realted skills throughout 25 years of working as a chef so transferring those skills to my new direction was a snap. I couldn’t have gotten this far without making connections with people (like yourself) and so I see it as a big part of what I do. Good luck with your writing Gavin, and keep on making those connections- they will certainly pay dividends in the long run.

  3. Pat Garcia says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the update and for the broaden picture of what is happening in your life. Nice to hear that you are making progress. As always though, progress brings many responsilbilties with it, but I believe you are mastering them.
    Concerning your blog, I find it good that you want to write a blog that has meaning and is not just a whole bunch of talk. I have the same problem with my blogging, because I take it very seriously. I don’t want to be blogging just to hear myself talk. That is a waste of my time. Therefore, my blogging sometimes falls behind. I have now promised myself to write two blog posts in the month for each of my own private blogs and to keep my promised to myself to write one a week for my Apple blog.
    Finally, I like the way you promoted yourself. It is not overbearing nor is it tinged with arrogancy. So, congratulations on your success. I am happy for you.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    • Thanks Patricia! It is comments like yours that have encouraged me to keep blogging as others have told me much the same things as you have. I have always wanted to at least try and make an effort to present information here that will engage people and make them want to come back so it is good to know that I am hitting my marks. Please feel free to post links to your blogs here so that we can keep the network going.

  4. Well done, well done. Nice to see you doing well in a hard field.

Leave a comment